Lorman: newly elected council members start on December 4


Although the city’s charter specifies that elected officers normally begin their terms on January 1 after they are elected, Corporation Counsel Bill Lorman said at Tuesday’s council meeting that the three council members who were recently elected to serve unexpired terms can start their terms on December 4.

“It’s my understanding from review of the charter that article 2, section c-17 requires that the vacancy is filled upon the electorate,” said Lorman. “It is my opinion that they will take their position when the vote is ratified.”

Lorman said that after consulting with the Montgomery County Board of Elections, ratification of the vote will be on December 3. The next scheduled common council meeting is December 4.

“It is that meeting that the new members will assume their seat,” concluded Lorman.

The three elected officials who, according to unofficial results, were elected in November to serve on the council for the remaining one year of unexpired terms were Pat Russo in the first ward, Irene Collins in the third ward, and Dave Dybas in the fourth ward.

Tim Becker

Tim Becker is the owner of Anthem Websites Inc. which publishes The Compass. He serves as both editor and a writer.