Rugged Rams’ Dale Stanavich named Class A Player of the Year

Amsterdam senior Dale Stanavich was named 2016 Player of the Year by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Section 2 Class A Football when it announced its all-star teams earlier this week.

Stanavich, a versatile running back for the Rugged Rams scored 24 touchdowns and rushed for over 1500 yards leading the team in both categories and helping Amsterdam reach the Section 2 Class A semi-finals. Stanavich’s single season total in rushing yards trailed only his brother Bryan’s feats in 2014 and 2015 as among the best in school history. The Stanavich brothers helped Amsterdam claim the Section 2 Class A Super Bowl title in 2015 after the Rugged Rams had opened the season at 0-3.

Joining Stanavich on the first team all-stars for the Northwest Division Class A were ten of his Rugged Rams teammates. Among the selections on offense were Jake Smitka, Louis Fedullo, Nico Orengo, and Misha Murdoch. On defense, Jesse Kellogg, Jarrett Nowak, Gio Adorno, Eliajah Newborn, Tyrone Watson, and Adel Rosario were awarded the honor. Francisco Alejandro was also named to the second team on defense for AHS. Murdoch had also been named as an honorable mention choice for Foothills Council boys soccer.

The Gloversville Huskies also placed several of its players on the first and second team Northwest Division all-star squads. Wide receiver Trevor Mee was named to the first team on offense, and Anthony Ponticello, and Jackson Peck were named to the first team defense. Pryce Bouchard and Jared Malagisi were chosen for the second team on offense, and Josh Nails was selected to the second team on defense.

Mohonasen’s Ryan Deguire was awarded the Section 2 Class A offensive player of the year for 2016, Burnt Hills- Ballston Lakes’ Connor McClernan was honored as defensive player of the year, and Kevin Collins of Queensbury received the award for All-Purpose Player of the Year in Class A.

BPHS Patriots put four on Class B first team

The Broadalbin-Perth Patriots had four of its team selected as NYSPHSAA Section 2 Class B all-stars. Brodryk Benton and Billy DeCoursey were honored as first team choices for defense. Jeff Derwin and Anthony Townsend were named first team choices on offense. Alex Gardner, Brandon Akey, and Andrew Syzdek received second team honors on offense.

Johnstown’s Sam McInnis was named the 2016 Section 2 Class B Football’s All-Purpose Player of the Year. The Sir Bills senior split time between running back, quarterback, and receiver on offense, and was a key part of the Sir Bills’ defense as a defensive back. Joining McInnis on the first team for Class B were teammates Austin Dingman, Tanner Fahr and Zack Pedersen.

The other top honors in Section 2 Class B were all from Glens Falls. Andrew Murphy, was named Player of the Year, Joe Girard III was named Offensive Player of the Year, and Lucas Sanders was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Scott Mulford

Scott Mulford has been covering local sports for over 20 years. He previously wrote for the Amsterdam Star and The Free Press of the Mohawk Valley.