Area high school results for BH-BL cross country invitational

Several area high school cross country teams were among more than 80 squads from across the state to compete at the 35th annual Burnt Hills- Ballston Lake Invitational at Saratoga State Park on Saturday. Runners from Broadalbin-Perth, Mayfield, Johnstown, Gloversville, Fonda-Fultonvile, and Fort Plain-Canajoharie put up some of the best times during the day long event.

Mayfield eighth grader Madison Relyea finished fourth overall in the Division 1 girls varsity race with a time of 19 minutes, 08.04 seconds, for the best finish of the schools from Fulton and Montgomery counties. On the boys side for the Panthers, senior Josh Febbie finished 20th in the Division 1 boys varsity race with a time of 17:31.81.

The Broadalbin- Perth Lady Patriots totaled 438 points for a 19th place team finish in the Division 2 varsity girls race. Sophomore Gabby Larsen led the way with a time of 20:22.08 good for a 22nd place finish. Eighth grader Samantha Murphy was next across the line for BPHS in 20:59.16, followed by senior Victoria Laurange (22:53.30), junior Gabby Martin (23:19.02), junior Carley Nolan (25:42.82), and senior Julie Capito (27:59.63).

For the BPHS boys, sophomore James Mosher led the way in 49th with a time of 18:13.97. sophomores Wyatt Couperus (18:37.45), and Devin Becker (18:47.74) were next with top 100 finishes, followed by Jeffrey Shlomovich (19:36.08), Micah Smith (20:00.08), and Evan Smith (20:37.32). The BPHS boys finished with 455 points in 19th place among Division 2 varsity competitors.

Johnstown’s Julia Sarullo (19:55.34) finished in eleventh place, and Aylene Newman (20:24.21) came in 26th among Division 2 varsity girls runners to help the Lady Bills to a 17th place finish. Senior Brandon Mraz (17:17.00) was first across the line for the Sir Bills placing 20th overall in the Division 2 boys varsity race. Sophomore Alex Quillan (18:05.05), and junior Gabe Cole (18:20.23) turned in top 100 finishes.

Mariah Van Avery was best for the Fonda-Fultonville Lady Braves with a time of 20:29.37 to place 29th in the Division 2 varsity girls race, and led the Lady Braves to a 16th place finish. Clane Newcomer (18:01.65), and Travis Geniti (18:05.47) earned top 50 finishes as the two seniors helped the Braves to a 15th place finish with 358 points in the Division 2 varsity boys race.

Fort Plain- Canajoharie was led by Lexi Veitch’s (21:28.27) 36th place finish in the girls varsity Division 1 race, and by Michael Hoffman (18:22.05) who finished the boys Division 1 race in 63rd place. Schoharie’s Noah Valvo crossed the line in seventh place with a time of 16:35.92 in the Division 1 varsity boys race.

Gloversville’s Skyler Reed led the way for the Huskies with a time of 17:58.00 in the boys varsity Division 3 race. Daley Jo Christman (20:43.04) led the way for the Gloversville varsity girls.

The Saranac varsity girls team won the Division 2 race with 140 points. Cobleskill- Richmondville was the closest Section 2 team in fourth place. Greenwich Central of Section 2 took the top spot in the Division 1 varsity girls race led by freshmen Brynne Wright (18:28.66) and Emma Cronin (18:42.38) who finished first and second. Among the best Foothills Council girls runners were Schuylerville’s Ashley Watson (18:58.65) finished third in the Division 2 varsity girls race. She was joined by teammate Sunni Labounty (19:42.21) with a top ten finish. The Champlain Valley Union High School girls won the Division 3 varsity race.

Mount Greylock Regional High School won the Division 1 boys varsity race with 57 points. Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake of Section 2 scored the same total to take the Division 3 varsity run. Another Section 2 school, the Glens Falls varsity boys team led by junior Chris Hughes (15:35.88 – 1st place), senior Cameron Giordano (16:41.87- 7th place), and senior Ethan Wyman (16:49.11 – 10th place) took the Division 2 title with 53 points, and were the top Foothills Council team at the meet.

The 2016 Foothills Council cross country championships will be held at Saratoga State Park on Monday, October 24th. Teams from Amsterdam, Broadalbin-Perth, Gloversville, Johnstown, Scotia-Glenville, Queensbury, Schuylerville, South Glens Falls, Glens Falls, and Hudson Falls high schools will compete for modified, junior varsity, and varsity boys and girls team titles. The 2016 New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Section 2 Cross Country Championships will also be held at Saratoga State Park on Friday, November 4th.

Scott Mulford

Scott Mulford has been covering local sports for over 20 years. He previously wrote for the Amsterdam Star and The Free Press of the Mohawk Valley.