AHS track and field places 16 on Foothills Council All-Stars

Amsterdam High School was well represented when the Foothills Council recently announced its’ all- star selections for the 2016 high school track and field season. Nine members of the AHS varsity girls team were selected as first-team Foothills Council All-Stars, along with seven members of the AHS varsity boys team. The Rams and Lady Rams had more first-team selections than any other Foothills Council school, and five of the six Amsterdam relay teams earned first-team honors.

For the Amsterdam Lady Rams, Brenda Santana was chosen as a first-team all-star in the 100 meter and 200 meter dash events, Edena Sanchez earned the top honor in the 800 meter run, and freshman Gabby Stanavich was the first-team choice in the 100 meter hurdles. Santana, Sanchez, and Stanavich all represented AHS at the state qualifying meet at Shenendehowa High School earlier this month with each achieving personal best marks in their individual events. Sanchez twice broke the school record in the girls 800 meter run during the 2016 season.

All three of the Amsterdam High School girls varsity relay teams earned first-team all-star honors. AHS girls relay teams were a combined 14-1 through the Foothills Council dual meet season. The 1600 meter relay team of Santana, Sanchez, Olivia Lazarou, and Lauren Santiago went undefeated throughout the year including invitationals, and won the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) Section 2 Group 2 event title at Knox Field in Johnstown on May 25, 2016 helping the AHS girls to a school best third place team finish. Sanchez and Lazarou were joined by Emma Patrei and Emma Gomez on the 3200 meter relay team, and Santana joined Alyssa Kuchis, Kaitlyn Devine, and Giuliana Pritchard for top honors on the 400 meter relay team. Santiago also earned a second team all-star nod for the 200 meter run.

Senior Omahri Sturdivant and junior Kevon Boucuad helped the Amsterdam boys varsity team lead the way in first-team all-star selections. Boucuad was chosen for the top honor in the 100 meter, 200 meter, and 400 meter run events, while Sturdivant earned the top spot in the long jump and the triple jump. Both Boucaud and Sturdivant advanced to the NYSPHSAA championship meet at Cicero North Syracuse High School where Sturdivant reached the podium with a Federation meet fourth place effort in the triple jump, gaining a mark of 47 feet, 3.5 inches. Sturdivant set the school record in the event on the first day of competition with a leap of 47 feet, seven inches, and has committed to the University of Albany to continue his athletic career. Boucaud did not earn a medal at the state meet but did achieve a personal best in the 100 meter run with a time of 10.90 seconds. Boucaud was also named a second-team all-star in the long jump, and Sturdivant was selected as a second-team all-star in the 400 meter run.

The AHS boys relay teams took two of the three first-team honors with the 3200 meter relay team of Michael Johnson, Mikey Gomez, Ryan Kamanu, and Gabe Fernandez chosen as first-team all stars, along with the 1600 meter relay team of Johnson, Kamanu, Fernandez, and John Companion.

Among other local schools, Broadalbin-Perth placed three as 2016 Foothills Council All-Stars. Gabrielle Larsen was honored as a first-team all-star in the 2000 meter steeplechase for the BPHS girls, and Jeff Derwin was chosen as a first-team all-star from the BPHS boys team in both the shot put and discus throw events. Derwin reached the NYSPHSAA championships for the second straight season and placed seventh at the Federation meet in the discus throw. Chris Wagner of the BPHS boys team was selected as a second team all-star in the pole vault.

Scott Mulford

Scott Mulford has been covering local sports for over 20 years. He previously wrote for the Amsterdam Star and The Free Press of the Mohawk Valley.