Foothills names boys and girls basketball all stars

Four members of the 2014-2015 Amsterdam Lady Rams varsity basketball team earned all star honors when the Foothills Council named its selections on Wednesday, March 11.

Senior guard Caitlin Gannon and sophomore forward Nina Fedullo were selected as first team Foothills Council South Division All Stars, and junior guard Kaitlyn Devine, and freshman forward Giuliana Pritchard were named to the South Division second team. Fedullo also earned Foothills Council All -League honors.

Also selected as part of the South Division first team were; senior Nicole Conley, and sophomore Caitlin Estes of Scotia- Glenville, and senior Megan Anagnostopulos of Johnstown.

Broadalbin-Perth junior Erica Kordyjak, Gloversville freshman Kerri Hauser, and Johnstown senior Annie Stock were second team South Division selections.

The Foothills Council North Division was represented by first team selections Lucy Tougas and Sophie Tougas of Glens Falls, Rylee Coon of South Glens Falls, Maddie Nelson of Queensbury, and Tanner Barton of Hudson Falls. Chosen as the second team were; Eileen Hurley and Samantha Wallace of Queensbury, Bri McKinney and Sophie Lebrun of Hudson Falls, and Raegan Woodcock of Schuylerville.

Fedullo was joined by Conley and Estes of Scotia Glenville, Rylee Coon of South Glens Falls, and the Tougas sisters of Glens Falls as part of the All- League team. Glens Falls sophomore Lucy Tougas was named the MVP.

Recently,  Amsterdam Running Rams junior guard Kory Bergh and senior guard Andrew Druziak were honored as 2015 Foothills Council Boys Basketball All Stars. Bergh was named to the first team, and Druziak was a third team selection. Scotia -Glenville senior Joe Cremo was named the league MVP.

Joining Bergh on the first team were Gloversville’s Ricky Mitchell, Scotia- Glenville’s Scott Stopera, Queensbury’s Keeghan O’Leary, and Schuylerville’s Dante Langley.

The 2015 Foothills Council Second Team All Stars consisted of Broadalbin-Perth’s Ryan Dingman and Vincenzo DiCaterino, Mike Palleschi and Diamond Corker of Scotia-Glenville, and Glens Falls’ Joe Girard.

In addition to Druziak, also honored as part of the third team were Johnstowns’ Austin Riska and Jamal Vazquez, Scotia-Glenville’s Joe Almond, Brett Rodriguez of Queensbury, and Matt Higgins of South Glens Falls.

Scott Mulford

Scott Mulford has been covering local sports for over 20 years. He previously wrote for the Amsterdam Star and The Free Press of the Mohawk Valley.